Back in May of 2010, Corrosion of Conformity announced the reunion of their ‘Animosity’-era line up of Mike Dean on vocals and bass, Woody Weatherman on guitar and Reed Mullin on drums and vocals. Since then, the trio has inked a deal with Candlelight Records and has been working on their eighth studio album. They are planning for an early 2012 release date. recently spoke to Dean about the three getting back together, and the new music they have been working on.

When asked about deciding to record again after so much time apart, Dean simply said that, “Rockers make rock and we were sitting at home. It was time to take back the means of expression and express ourselves.”

As for the new material, Dean said that they have written some music that they are “really proud of” and he “firmly believes this will be among their best records.” High praise considering the arsenal of revered albums they’ve put out throughout their career.

Sound-wise Dean described the new music as “what’s new is what was old.” He elaborated, saying, “While we're not focusing on recreating that sound deliberately, there are some fast tempos and aggressive riffs but it's a reflection of where we're at today.”

For more, read the full interview with Dean on and check out Corrosion of Conformity live this December when they head out for some dates with Clutch and Kyng.