Contact Us

Linkin Park To Unleash New Album ‘Living Things’ on June 26

Linkin Park Living Things
Warner Bros.

It’s a big day for Linkin Park fans, as the band has announced details of their upcoming album, which is titled ‘Living Things’ and hits stores on June 26.

‘Living Things’ was produced by veteran knob-twiddler Rick Rubin. The album features the just-unleashed first single ‘Burn It Down.’ Check out the lyric video for ‘Burn it Down’ here.

Singer Chester Bennington recently revealed that the new album would mark a return, in many ways, to the sound Linkin Park delivered on their first two albums, the multiplatinum discs ‘Hybrid Theory’ and ‘Meteora.’

Now, Linkin Park rhyme-slinger / multi-instumentalist Mike Shinoda has commented on the  topic, offering a lengthy blog post on the new album that reveals the following sentiments:

Over the course of the last year … we talked about how to tastefully bridge the gap between all the musical places we’ve been, to marry together all the ideas we’ve accumulated about how to make a song. And as ‘Living Things’ began taking shape, the most powerful shift I saw take place was the acceptance and eagerness to use all the tools in the toolbox, not just some. Everything at once, together.

Some people have already compared our new album to the early ones. I suppose it depends on how you want to make that comparison (by the way, it’s certainly not about guitars). For me, it’s all about getting back to the real “hybrid theory” — not the album with that name, but the idea that the six guys in our band have drastically different tastes in music, and the blending of all those sounds into one is exactly what we built our band upon.

In addition to announcing details of the new album, Linkin Park also revealed that they will co-headline this summer’s 2012 Honda Civic Tour with Incubus. The trek kicks off Aug. 11 in Bristow, Va. See the full itinerary here.

‘Living Things’ Track List:

1. ‘Lost in the Echo’
2. ‘In My Remains’
3. ‘Burn It Down’
4. ‘Lies Greed Misery’
5. ‘I’ll Be Gone’
6. ‘Castle of Glass’
7. ‘Victimized’
8. ‘Roads Untraveled’
9. ‘Skin to Bone’
10. ‘Until It Breaks’
11. ‘Tinfoil’
12. ‘Powerless’

Watch a Promotional Clip for Linkin Park’s New Album ‘Living Things’

Subscribe to Loudwire on

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Loudwire

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Loudwire quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!