In keeping with the theme of their recent induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Red Hot Chili Peppers are set to release an EP that will feature a collection of cover songs honoring previous Hall of Fame inductees. The song selections were based on artists who have influenced the Chili Peppers throughout their career and run the gamut of styles from the Ramones to the Beach Boys.

Three of the songs on the EP are live renditions of classic tunes including Neil Young’s ‘Everybody Knows This is Nowhere,’ David Bowie’s ‘Suffragette City’ and ‘I Get Around’ from The Beach Boys. 'I Get Around' was performed in 2005 at the MusiCares dinner honoring Brian Wilson, while the Neil Young classic was recorded on the band’s current tour in support of their latest disc 'I'm With You.'

The other songs on the disc are ‘A Teenager in Love’ by Dion and the Belmonts, ‘Havana Affair’ from the Ramones, and ‘Search & Destroy’ by Iggy and the Stooges. A few of the songs were available in the past as part of B-side or international releases, but this is the first time five of the six songs will be available in digital format.

Red Hot Chili Peppers were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame last weekend (April 14). Check out our in-depth coverage of their induction here.

‘We Salute You’ will be available on May 1 via Warner Bros. Records.

'We Salute You' Track-Listing:

'A Teenager in Love' (Dion and the Belmonts)
'Havana Affair' (Ramones)
'Search & Destroy' (Iggy and the Stooges)
'Everybody Knows This is Nowhere' (Neil Young) [live]
'I Get Around' (The Beach Boys) [live]
'Suffragette City' (David Bowie) [live]