It may be a little bit before we get a full new Black Stone Cherry album, but the band has something to tide fans over that might have an influence on what we get next. The group will issue the Black to Blues EP on Sept. 29, offering up their take on a handful of songs from some of the greats of blues music.

"I know it's crazy for four rock 'n' roll dudes to make a blues EP, but it's us sharing with everyone the music that's been our DNA from day one," says frontman Chris Robertson about the new collection.

You'll find the band covering tracks from Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, Freddie King and Albert King among others. The Howlin' Wolf song "Built for Comfort" is the first to make it's debut, just being released today (July 27) via Team Rock.

"The blues is such honest music. When you hear it, it's, like, 'I'm down on my luck, and, damn, that guy gets just how I feel.'" Robertson states. "I hope by sharing this music we have the beautiful opportunity to expose a new generation to the blues." He goes on to add, "It was humbling and freeing at the same time. It reignited our passion for this music, and it will definitely have an effect on our next album."

Black to Blues will be arriving Sept. 29 via the Mascot Label Group. You can go ahead and pre-order the disc via the band's webstore. Check out the track listing and the artwork for the EP below, with a trailer posted at the top of this post.

Black Stone Cherry, Black to Blues Artwork

Mascot Label Group

Black Stone Cherry, Black to Blues Track Listing:

01. Built for Comfort
02. Champagne & Reefer
03. Palace of the King
04. Hoochie Coochie Man
05. Born Under a Bad Sign
06. I Want to Be Loved

Most Anticipated Upcoming Hard Rock + Metal Albums of 2017