Swedish melodic death metal vets Dark Tranquillity are set to release their 10th studio album, Atoma, on Nov. 4 through Century Media. Armed with 12 new tracks, the group has released a music video for "The Pitiless," the first taste of new music off the disc.

The four and a half minute cut starts off with a quick drum fill, leading into haunting, sinister melodies before Michael Stanne breaks the mood with his signature, raspy death rattle. Picking up the pace a bit, the pre-chorus initially deceives listeners into thinking this is the song's refrain. When the chorus does finally arrive, the keyboard melodies deliver a more anthemic moment despite their overarching gloom.

Throughout the video, clips are shown first of a look at the stage from a zoom-out view behind the drum kit, taking viewers through the band's steps before walking out onstage to a banner-bearing crowd. Footage is spliced in between live performance shots, showcasing the lighter pre-show moments as the members embrace outside a van and hang around before showtime.

"Selecting the first single from an album as diverse as Atoma is always a hard task, but we felt that 'The Pitiless' gives a good representation of the general vibe of the material. It's fast, melodic and with a sense of urgency that permeates the whole album," said Dark Tranquillity as a collective.

Catch Dark Tranquillity on their North American headlining tour, which kicks off Nov. 4 in New York. Support will come from Swallow the Sun, Enforcer and Starkill and a list of stops can be found at our 2016 Guide to Rock + Metal Tours.

Best Metal Albums of 2016 (So Far)

10 Greatest Death Metal Bands