Florida death metal legends Deicide have announced that their 12th album, 'Overtures of Blasphemy,' will come out September 14 and they've released the first track, "Excommunicated."

Overtures of Blasphemy is the follow-up to the band's 2013 release In the Minds of Evil, and is the first to feature guitarist Mark English (Monstrosity), who replaced Jack Owen in 2016. The rest of the lineup is composed of founding vocalist Glen Benton, original member Steve Asheim on drums and guitarist Kevin Quirion.

Loaded with urgent, grunted vocals, grinding guitar riffs, double-bass drumming and flailing solos, "Excommunicated" is crazy-heavy, instantly recognizable and features nothing to displease even hardened Deicide fans.

“I originally thought that the older I got the more mellow I’d get,” says Benton. “That’s not the case. I would say I’m darker now than I ever was. What I’ve been through over the years has definitely darkened my heart and soul.”

Overtures of Blasphemy was produced by Jason Suecof at Audiohammer Studios. Benton recently explained why there has been a three-year wait between releases. “This album came together over time, meaning we didn’t want to rush it," he said. "A few people might remember an interview where Steve Asheim said ‘the material is done, but it’s just not there yet.’ Well, that was the jumping off point of when this album truly started taking shape and the songs became what they are now -- complete, compact and effective. As the band pushed forward, so did the writing process and a few other processes which made the record and the band stronger. The result is Overtures Of Blasphemy, perhaps the group’s strongest release to date."

Benton also had some words about working with Suecoff. "Jason Suecof lended (sic) his considerable talents and attention to detail in making the tracking of the songs as great as they can be and the final mix as sonically brutal, yet as listenable as possible. An arduous process, but one well worth the time and effort.”

Deicide, Overtures of Blasphemy Artwork + Track Listing

Century Media
Century Media

1. One With Satan
2. Crawled From the Shadows
3. Seal the Tomb Below
4. Compliments of Christ
5. All That Is Evil
6. Excommunicated
7. Anointed in Blood
8. Crucified Soul of Salvation
9. Defying the Sacred
10. Consumed by Hatred
11. Flesh, Power, Dominion
12. Destined to Blasphemy

Best Death Metal Album of Each Year Since 1985

More From Loudwire