Downpour, the new band featuring Brian Fair (Shadows Fall, vocals), Derek Kerswill (ex-Unearth, drums), Matt LeBreton (guitar) and Pete Gelles (bass), have announced that they're eponymous debut will arrive on Sept. 7 and have launched a new track, "Truth in Suffering," which can be heard above.

"When I was first approached by Derek about getting involved with the Downpour, Shadows Fall was starting to come to an end and I wasn't sure I was ready to start working with another band," said Fair. "When he sent me the instrumental versions of the songs, I knew immediately that I had to get in," he exclaimed, adding, "The combination of musicianship, unique songwriting style, and a groove that can't be fucked with just absolutely blew my mind."

"This was not only music I had always wanted to hear - it was music that I thought would allow me to push myself as a vocalist and try totally new things," the singer went on. "I tracked some lo-fi, home studio demos and sent them off to the boys, having no idea if they would be feeling what I was laying down but I know I was! Luckily, they got my vision and encouraged me to push it even further."

Speaking about the direction of the album, Fair offered, "We wanted to make a unique metal record that represented our varied influences, unrestrained by sub-genre or any other restrictions. The vocal lines and lyrics seemed to flow effortlessly. The riffs and grooves really inspired me to find some deep and personal subject matter that I had yet to explore lyrically. Before I knew it, we had enough material for the record and we hadn't even all jammed in the same room yet!"

Fans looking to pre-order the album can do so at PledgeMusic. There's a variety of pledge package options, one of which includes a nickel bag of a lock of Brian Fair's dreadlocks which will be chopped off in chunks for the first time since 1995.

Downpour, Downpour Album Art


25 Best Metalcore Albums

10 Greatest Metalcore Bands

More From Loudwire