Novembers Doom have reached their 10th studio album, furthering their legacy of morose death doom. They've teamed with Loudwire for the premiere of the new song "Plague Bird" off the forthcoming Hamartia, as well as the unveiling of the track listing and album art as seen below.

Subdued, echo-saturated clean tones open "Plague Bird" on a melodic note, giving way to unforgivingly sinister rhythms countered by Paul Kuhr's always soothing, charmingly timid delivery. We don't get a dose of his gravely bark until the back half of the song, accenting lines rather than taking them over with brute force.

Excited at what's in front of Novembers Doom, Kuhr stated,

For the first time in this band's existence, we have the same line up on two consecutive albums. Without the need to focus on a new element, we could concentrate on the writing process more clearly, and the synergy between the group is apparent in the end result. I actually mean it, when I say in my own humble opinion, I truly feel Novembers Doom have created our very best work to date. From the writing, to the captured performances, to the overall mix and sound of this album. 'Hamartia' is a logical evolution from 'Bled White' but adds some of the darker elements from 'The Pale Haunt Departure'. It’s a Novembers Doom album, through and through, and hopefully others will share my enthusiasm once they get a chance to hear it.

Hamartia was recorded at Belle City Sound in Racine, Wis. alongside longtime Novembers Doom producer Chris Djuricic (Jungle Rot, Malevolence) and mixed by Dan Swano (Opeth, Dissection, Katatonia). See the disc's album art and track listing issued for the first time below.

Pre-orders for Hamartia can be placed at Amazon and iTunes. Those who pre-order through iTunes will receive an instant gratification download of "Plague Bird" and the full album will arrive on April 14 through The End Records.

Novembers Doom, Hamartia Album Art

The End
The End

Novembers Doom, Hamartia Track Listing:

01. "Devils Light"
02. "Plague Bird"
03. "Ghost"
04. "Ever After"
05. "Hamartia"
06. "Apostasy"
07. "Miasma"
08. "Zephyr"
09. "Waves in the Red Cloth"
10. "Borderline"

Most Anticipated Hard Rock + Metal Albums of 2017

More From Loudwire