Contact Us

Camp Freddy, ‘The Jean Genie’ – Exclusive Premiere From the ‘West of Memphis’ Soundtrack

Camp Freddy
Ethan Miller, Getty Images

In recent years, many in the music industry have rallied around Damien Echols, Jason Baldwin and Jessie Misskelley, more commonly known in the media as the West Memphis Three. The three men were freed from death row in 2011 after spending 18 questionable years in prison for the alleged murders of three boys.

Now, their fight to bring the truth to light is the subject of the documentary film ‘West of Memphis.’ The film is bolstered with a star-studded soundtrack filled with music from some of their supporters and Loudwire is exclusively premiering Camp Freddy‘s cover of David Bowie‘s ‘The Jean Genie.’

Jane’s Addiction guitarist Dave Navarro, one of the trio’s longtime supporters, is also a member of the all-star covers band Camp Freddy and the group was more than happy to lend their cover of ‘The Jean Genie’ to the film. Over the years, Navarro became friends with Echols, in particular, and learned that Bowie was one of the inmate’s favorite artists to listen to while serving his time.

The Camp Freddy version of the track features some wailing guitar work from Navarro and Billy Morrison, along with special guest guitarist Steve Stevens, plus a thumping bass line from Chris Chaney. Meanwhile, singer Donovan Leitch Jr. displays a swagger and bravado that Bowie originally brought to the track.

In addition to Camp Freddy, the ‘West of Memphis: Voices of Justice’ soundtrack, which arrives Jan. 15, features cuts from Marilyn Manson, Eddie Vedder, Henry Rollins, Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, Band of Horses, Bob Dylan, Natalie Maines and more.

The soundtrack CD arrives on Jan. 15 and can be pre-ordered at Amazon or iTunes, while the film is currently showing in select theaters.

Listen to Camp Freddy’s ‘The Jean Genie’

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

‘West of Memphis: Voices of Justice’ Soundtrack Track Listing:

1. Henry Rollins (featuring Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score), ‘Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 9′
2. Natalie Maines, ‘Mother’
3. Lucinda Williams, ‘Joy’
4. Camp Freddy, ‘The Jean Genie’
5. Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Johnny Depp & Bruce Witkin, ‘Little Lion Man’
6. Marilyn Manson, ‘You’re So Vain’
7. Band of Horses, ‘Dumpster World’ (Live)
8. Citizen Cope, ‘DFW’
9. Eddie Vedder, ‘Satellite’
10. Bill Carter, ‘Anything Made of Paper’
11. The White Buffalo, ‘House of Pain’
12. Bob Dylan, ‘Ring Them Bells’
13. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis, ‘West of Memphis Score Suite’
14. Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Johnny Depp (featuring Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score), ‘Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 16′

Next: Watch Highlights From Camp Freddy's Holiday Residency

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Loudwire

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Loudwire quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!