Contact Us

Nightwish Lock In January 2012 Release Date for ‘Imaginaerum’

Roadrunner Reocrds

Finnish symphonic metal act Nightwish have revealed a Jan. 10, 2012, release date for their new album ‘Imaginaerum’ on Roadrunner Records.

Written between 2008 and 2010, the band decided they wanted to do something special to coincide with the new album. Wanting to do something “big, crossover, detailed, innovative and just plain nuts,” Nightwish decided to set the album to a film. What started with an original idea of creating 10 film shorts with storylines tied to each song soon turned into a full feature film connecting each of the songs together with a united theme.

Keyboardist and songwriter Tuomas Holopainen talks about the evolving process of the film: “It was important from the very beginning that the album would work as its own individual piece of art, as well. It is a thematic album about life itself, about imagination, love, goodness and beauty, with a touch of darkness and melancholy, which are strongly included in all of those things mentioned.”

‘Imaginaerum’ the movie is tentatively scheduled to be released in 2012 and if you’re wondering, yes, the band will have a ‘small’ role in the film.

Nighwish will also be playing a one-off show in Los Angeles, Calif., on Jan. 21 at the Gibson Amphitheater.

‘Imaginaerum’ Track Listing:

1. ‘Taikatalvi’
2. ‘Storytime’
3. ‘Ghost River’
4. ‘Slow, Love, Slow’
5. ‘I Want My Tears Back’
6. ‘Scaretale’
7. ‘Arabesque’
8. ‘Turn Loose the Mermaids’
9. ‘Rest Calm’
10. ‘The Crow, the Owl and the Dove’
11. ‘Last Ride of the Day’
12. ‘Song of Myself’
Song 1: From A Dusty Bookshelf
Song 2: All That Great Heart Lying Still
Song 3: Piano Black
Song 4: Love
13. ‘Imaginaerum’

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Loudwire

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Loudwire quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!