The typically sparse release month of December just got a little more interesting with the revelation that Smashing Pumpkins are eying a Dec. 9 release date for their 'Monuments to an Elegy' disc.

The band also revealed a few more details about the effort, unveiling the disc's unique artwork while a tentative track listing for the album has surfaced as well. 'Monuments to an Elegy' is the first of two albums Smashing Pumpkins have in the works, with the second release, 'Day for Night,' expected to follow in late 2015.

For the album, Billy Corgan recruited Motley Crue drummer Tommy Lee to lay down the beats on the disc. In late August, Corgan stated the significance of his most recent work, explaining, “I’m not willing to wait around 15 to 20 years to have somebody go, ‘Hey, that album that you made is really good.’ And then sell it to the 7,000 people that are still paying attention.” He adds, “When this [new album] process is over, I’m either going to bail on this ship for good, like ‘I’m done,’ or I’m going to have a new ship to sail on.”

Corgan elaborated further on the disc during an interview with Alternative Nation, stating, "I feel like it’s there, and all of the response that I’ve gotten behind the scenes is off the charts. Just a really, really intense response. Things like people saying, ‘This is the record I’ve been waiting for you to make for 15 years.’ That kind of stuff, very grandiose things, but it tells me that we’re on point, in terms of hitting the right note. Because if you made like, ‘Hahaha, Siamese Dream 2,’ people wouldn’t have that response. They wouldn’t see it as current, and I know that from my own list, so it feels current to people that are hearing it.”

Check out the tentative track listing for 'Monuments to an Elegy' below.

Smashing Pumpkins, 'Monuments to an Elegy' Track Listing:

1. 'Tiberius'
2. 'Being Beige (World's on Fire)'
3. 'Anaise'
4. 'One and All'
5. 'Run2Me'
6. 'Drum and Fife'
7. 'Monuments'
8. 'Dorian'
9. 'Anti-Hero'