Contact Us

Soundgarden to Unleash Massive ‘Superunknown’ 20th Anniversary Reissue

Soundgarden Superunknown 20th Anniversary

Soundgarden‘s ‘Superunknown’ was one of the great albums of the ’90s, and fans will get a chance to dig a little deeper into that classic release for its 20th anniversary. That’s because Soundgarden are preparing a massive 20th Anniversary reissue that will arrive on June 3 through A&M Records/UME.

The disc, which technically turns 20 on March 8, featured such standout tracks as ‘Spoonman,’ ‘Black Hole Sun’ and ‘Fell on Black Days,’ while songs such as ‘The Day I Tried to Live’ and ‘My Wave’ have also earned their spots as fan favorites over the years.

The special 20th anniversary reissue of ‘Superunknown’ will arrive in two deluxe versions. The “Deluxe Edition” is a two-disc package featuring the original remastered album along with a collection of demos, rehearsals, b-sides and more. The “Super Deluxe Edition” version includes the two deluxe edition discs, plus additional demos, rehearsals and b-sides on two other discs and a fifth disc with the album mixes in Blu-Ray Audio 5.1 Surround Sound. The “Super Deluxe Edition” also comes with a hardbound book with a lenticular cover, liner notes by David Fricke and newly re-imagined album art from Josh Graham. The book also features never-before-seen photos by Kevin Westerberg.

There’s yet another option for vinyl-loving Soundgarden fans as a 2-LP gatefold of the original 16 vinyl tracks remastered on 200-gram vinyl will be made available and the ‘Superunknown’ singles and associated b-sides with new artwork sleeves by Josh Graham will be reissued on April 19 as part of the Record Store Day festivities. The singles will be issued as five limited edition 10-inch vinyl records.

To help build the buzz for the release, Soundgarden issued the never-before-heard rehearsal version of ‘The Day I Tried to Live,’ which can be checked out in the player and see what’s included on all of the ‘Superunknown 20′ packages below.

Check Out Soundgarden’s Rehearsal Version of ‘The Day I Tried to Live’

Subscribe to Loudwire on

1. ‘Let Me Drown’
2. ‘My Wave’
3. ‘Fell on Black Days’
4. ‘Mailman’
5. ‘Superunknown’
6. ‘Head Down’
7. ‘Black Hole Sun’
8. ‘Spoonman’
9. ‘Limo Wreck’
10. ‘The Day I Tried to Live’
11. ‘Kickstand’
12. ‘Fresh Tendrils’
13. ‘4th of July’
14. ‘Half’
15. ‘Like Suicide’
16. ‘She Likes Surprises’

CD TWO – Demos, Rehearsals, B-Sides & More
1. ‘Let Me Drown (Demo)’^
2. ‘Black Hole Sun (Demo)’^
3. ‘Half (Demo)’^
4. ‘Head Down (Rehearsal)’^
5. ‘Limo Wreck (Rehearsal)’^
6. ‘The Day I Tried to Live (Rehearsal)’^
7. ‘Like Suicide (Acoustic)’
8. ‘Black Days III’*
9. ‘Birth Ritual (Original Demo Version)’
10. ‘Exit Stonehenge’
11. ‘Kyle Petty, Son of Richard’
12. ‘Jerry Garcia’s Finger’
13. ‘Spoonman (Alternate Steve Fisk Remix)’^
14. ‘The Day I Tried To Live (Scott Litt Mix)’^
15. ‘4th of July (Instrumental)’^
16. ‘Superunknown (Instrumental)’^

1. ‘Let Me Drown’
2. ‘My Wave’
3. ‘Fell on Black Days’
4. ‘Mailman’
5. ‘Superunknown’
6. ‘Head Down’
7. ‘Black Hole Sun’
8. ‘Spoonman’
9. ‘Limo Wreck’
10. ‘The Day I Tried to Live’
11. ‘Kickstand’
12. ‘Fresh Tendrils’
13. ‘4th of July’
14. ‘Half’
15. ‘Like Suicide’
16. ‘She Likes Surprises’

1. ‘The Day I Tried To Live (Alternate Mix)’^
2. ‘Spoonman (Alternate Steve Fisk Remix)’^
3. ‘Beyond the Wheel (Live)’
4. ‘Fell on Black Days (Live)’
5. ‘Birth Ritual (Original Demo Version)’
6. ‘Jesus Christ Pose (Live)’
7. ‘Like Suicide (Acoustic Version)’
8. ‘Kickstand (Live)’
9. ‘My Wave (Live)’
10. ‘Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)’
11. ‘Exit Stonehenge’
12. ‘Kyle Petty, Son of Richard’
13. ‘Black Days III’*
14. ‘Ghostmotorfinger’**
15. ‘Jerry Garcia’s Finger’
16. ‘Fell on Black Days (Video Version)’

CD THREE – THE DEMOS (unreleased)
1. ‘Let Me Drown (Demo)’
2. ‘Fell on Black Days (Demo)’
3. ‘Superunknown (Demo)’
4. ‘Black Hole Sun (Demo)’
5. ‘Spoonman (Demo)’
6. ‘Fresh Tendrils (Demo)’
7. ‘4th of July (Demo)’
8. ‘Half (Demo)’
9. ‘Like Suicide (Demo)’

1. ‘Black Hole Sun (Rehearsal)’
2. ‘Bing Bing Goes To Church (Rehearsal)’
3. ‘Half (Instrumental)’
4. ‘Head Down (Rehearsal)’
5. ‘Kyle Petty, Son Of Richard (Rehearsal)’
6. ‘Let Me Drown (Rehearsal)’
7. ‘Limo Wreck (Rehearsal)’
8. ‘My Wave (Rehearsal)’
9. ‘Fresh Tendrils (Rehearsal)’
10. ‘Like Suicide (Rehearsal)’
11. ‘Ruff Riff-Raff (Rehearsal)’
12. ‘Spoonman (Rehearsal)’
13. ‘The Date I Tried To Leave (Rehearsal)’
14. ‘The Day I Tried To Live (Rehearsal)’

1. ‘Let Me Drown (5.1 Mix)’
2. ‘My Wave (5.1 Mix)’
3. ‘Fell on Black Days (5.1 Mix)’
4. ‘Mailman (5.1 Mix)’
5. ‘Superunknown (5.1 Mix)’
6. ‘Head Down (5.1 Mix)’
7. ‘Black Hole Sun (5.1 Mix)’
8. ‘Spoonman (5.1 Mix)’
9. ‘Limo Wreck (5.1 Mix)’
10. ‘The Day I Tried To Live (5.1 Mix)’
11. ‘Kickstand (5.1 Mix)’
12. ‘Fresh Tendrils (5.1 Mix)’
13. ‘4th of July (5.1 Mix)’
14. ‘Half (5.1 Mix)’
15. ‘Like Suicide (5.1 Mix)’
16. ‘She Likes Surprises (Int’l Vers & Us 12″) (5.1 Mix)’

1. ‘Spoonman’
‘Fresh Tendrils’
‘Cold Bitch’
‘Exit Stonehenge’

2. ‘The Day I Tried to Live’
‘Like Suicide (Acoustic Version)’
‘Kickstand (Live)’
‘Limo Wreck’

3. ‘Black Hole Sun’
‘Jesus Christ Pose (Live)’
‘Beyond the Wheel (Live)’
‘Fell on Black Days (Live)’

4. ‘My Wave’
‘Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)’
‘Birth Ritual (Original Demo Version)’
‘My Wave (Live)’

5. ‘Fell on Black Days’
‘Kyle Petty, Son of Richard’
‘Fell on Black Days (Video Version)’
‘Girl U Want’
‘Black Days III’*

* Originally titled ‘Fell On Black Days (Demo – Early Version)’
**Originally titled ‘Motorcycle Loop (Short Version)’
^ Previously Unreleased

10 Best Soundgarden Songs

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Loudwire

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Loudwire quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!