Kvelertak will release Splid, their fourth full length album, in 2020 and have debuted the first single, "Bråtebrann," which can be heard below.

"Bråtebrann" is a seven-minute corker that navigates the Norwegian band's hybrid sound of heavy metal, punk and rock 'n' roll with an adventurous sense of songwriting. Splashes of melody cut through the choppy riffing, setting up the beautiful gang vocal chorus that underscores the group's dynamism.

After releasing Nattesferd in 2016, Kvelertak underwent their first lineup change since 2009 last year when original frontman Erlend Hjelvik stepped down from his post. Ivar Nikolaisen was revealed to be the new singer in July of 2018 and Splid marks his first studio contributions with the group.

"We are very excited that our new album Splid will be released through Rise Records and we look forward to being a part of the Rise family in the coming years," said Kvelertak. "Splid (which means "discord" in English) is a deep dive into western gluttony, our own stupidity, and the abyss of the earth."

The album, which will be out Feb. 14, was recorded with Kurt Ballou (Converge) at Godcity Studio in Salem, Mass. and can be pre-ordered here.

Commenting on the partnership, Kvelertak added, "Working with Kurt again has been amazing and we're extremely happy with the production. We've pushed ourselves to the edge this last year — musically, physically, and mentally. The result is one hour of catchy riffs, punk rock, and heavy metal influenced by a world in discord to accompany our way towards Ragnarok."

Listen to "Bråtebrann" directly below and view the album art and track listing further down the page.

Kvelertak, "Bråtebrann"

Kvelertak, Splid Album Art + Track Listing

Rise Records
Rise Records

01. "Rogaland"
02. "Crack of Doom" Feat. Troy Sanders
03. "Necrosoft"
04. "Discord"
05. "Bråtebrann"
06. "Uglas hegemoni"
07. "Fanden ta dette hull!"
08. "Tevling"
09. "Stevnemøte med Satan"
10. "Delirium tremens"
11. "Ved bredden av Nihil"

The 66 Best Metal Albums of the Decade: 2010 - 2019


More From Loudwire