Black metal instigators Mayhem have returned with "Worthless Abominations Destroyed," the sulfurous first single off their forthcoming sixth album, Daemon.

The band had spent the last couple years on the road, performing their groundbreaking debut, De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, in its entirety and it appears a bit of that classic sound has seeped into the writing. That's not to say "Worthless Abominations Destroyed" is merely aping past success — far from it. There's a supremely wicked sense of melody imbued within the claustrophobic atmosphere as vocalist Attila Csihar alternates between hushed rasps and bellowing clean-sung chants.

Read the lyrics and listen below.

Energy of Chaos
Absu and Tiamat sleeps
Dreaming their darkest dreams
Spawning the cosmic gods

Worthless abominations destroyed

Preparing for war
Against the gods
Ultimate blasphemy
Captured and imprisoned
Power-hungry whore
Sliced in half
Creation to rule

Now spawned
Infernal Undead
Anti cosmic gods
Worshipping the Demiurge
Keeping people blind
Black flames tried extinguish
Total lawlessness

"After teasing you guys for over six months, it's finally time to show you what we have been up to in the studio this summer," said guitarist Teloch. "Here's 'Worthless Abominations Destroyed,' a track that was made with the intention to have this 'all is lost and hopeless' feeling."

Daemon will be released on Oct. 25 through Century Media. Pre-order your copy here and view the album art and track listing beneath the video.

Mayhem, "Worthless Abominations Destroyed"

Mayhem, Daemon Album Art + Track Listing

Century Media
Century Media

01. "The Dying False King"
02. "Agenda Ignis"
03. "Bad Blood"
04. "Malum"
05. 'Falsified and Hated"
06. "Aeon Daemonium"
07. "Worthless Abomination Destroyed"
08. "Daemon Spawn"
09. "Of Worms and Ruins"
10. "Invoke the Oath"

See Mayhem in the Top 30 Black Metal Albums of All Time

More From Loudwire