Otherwise have announced the release of their third, full-length album, Sleeping Lions, set for a Sept. 22 release. The band has been on tour this summer, playing some of the new tracks from the album to live audiences prior to the release.

The group believes that the title captures their essence in a way that touts who they are as artists, and how they have evolved. "We named the album Sleeping Lions because that's what we feel like -- we've been hibernating in our neon desert cave, licking our wounds and regaining our strength for the hunt," says Otherwise frontman Adrian Patrick. "Now we're back on the prowl again, and our eyes are wide open. The album title absolutely references a bigger awareness of who we are and what we're capable of. The last thing you ever want to do is wake sleeping lions."

The 12-track offering runs an emotional gamut that parallel real life struggles. Among the suggested highlights in the press materials include the blistering "Angry Heart," the more heartfelt "Blame," the gut punch of "Bloodline Lullaby," the chaos of the relationship-based "Monster" and the symphonically emotional "Nothing to Me."

"Emotion is the most important element of our writing process," Patrick says. "We try to capture every aspect of the human condition so the subject matter of our songs runs the gauntlet of what it means to be alive. Every lyric comes from a very genuine and heartfelt place. There are no fictional storylines or tough-guy rhetoric in any of our tunes."

"As artists, evolution is the lifeblood of creativity," continues the singer. "We spread our musical wings a bit more on this album in a concerted effort to remain true to ourselves and not conform to what others expect of us. Rock and roll is all about taking risks, and that's what we do best. If we were forced to stagnate or remain trapped in the same stylistic box, the fire inside us would burn itself out."

Check out the track listing for Otherwise's Sleeping Lions album below. As the album nears, Otherwise have a handful of August dates on the horizon. See what's on their schedule here.

Otherwise, Sleeping Lions Track Listing

1. Angry Heart
2. Sleeping Lions
3. Suffer
4. Nothing to Me
5. Weapons
6. Crocodile Tears
7. Close to the Gods
8. Dead in the Air
9. Beautiful Monster
10. Blame
11. Bloodline Lullaby

Most Anticipated Hard Rock + Metal Albums of 2017

More From Loudwire