The individual musicians in post-hardcore bands Finch and Senses Fail have made their careers writing unflinchingly honest and sincere music. Together, Senses Fail lead singer Buddy Nielsen and Finch instrumentalists Daniel Wonacott, Alex Linares and Alex Pappas have come together to form the new band Speak the Truth... Even if Your Voice Shakes. Today, they're exclusively premiering their new song "Drowning on the Sidewalk or Dying Inside" right here at Loudwire. The track, heard above, comes from their forthcoming album Everyone You Love Will Slip Away From You, out Nov. 10.

The song doesn't spend its time trying to be a nostalgic trip down swoopy black hair lane, but instead works to adapt what they've accomplished in the past to the now. The guitar and instrumental work hones in on a poppy-darkness, forming a catchy riff that underscores the darkness of Nielsen's lyrics. He wonders aloud about his wife's miscarriage, and what he'd like to say to his unborn child, coming to peace with what happened in life.

Of the song, Buddy Nielsen says, "I spent the last two Senses Fail records writing really positive and emotional lyrics, which was a big departure from all the other material I have worked on. In response to that there were a lot of fans that were upset that I had suddenly changed tones on them. I was, which I shouldn't have been, reading comments on the Internet on how it was better when I am depressed, or more relatable when I wrote songs about sadness or drinking. So this song is a little tongue in cheek response to that but also about the miscarriage my wife had."

He continues, "It is a conversation I'd like to have with my unborn child, that depending on what you believe, was either never alive or fully alive. Either way it is my attempt at making peace with it while also fulfilling peoples' wishes of writing songs from a darker more depressing place. Sort of asking fans, 'Are you happy that I have suffered a tragedy so that you can now have more relatable lyrics?' But trying to do so in a humorous way, if that is at all possible. That is why I chose one of the poppier songs to frame such a dark topic. I also might have been listening to too much Morrissey in this time frame (laughs).”

Hear "Drowning on the Sidewalk or Dying Inside" above, and check out the album artwork below. Pre-order the album here where you can add a number of PledgeMusic incentives. And stay up to date with the band via their websiteFacebook and Twitter accounts.

Speak the Truth ... Even If Your Voice Shakes, Everyone You Love Will Slip Away From You Album Artwork


Speak the Truth ... Even if Your Voice Shakes, Everyone You Love Will Slip Away From You Track Listing:

1. The Upside Down
2. Mornings Mournings
3. Crash My Car
4. Carpenter in Prison
5. Everyone You Love Will Slip Away From You
6. Drowning on the Sidewalk or Dying Inside
7. 90 English 100 Unhappy
8. At Least There’s Always Lexapro
9. Go for the Throat
10. Show Your Scars

More From Loudwire