Canada's melodic death metal troupe The Agonist have detailed their sixth album, Orphans, and have released a music video for the new track 'In Vertigo.' The album is set to arrive on Sept. 20 on Rodeostar Records.

A swirling, cinematic storm of relentless double bass, labyrinthine orchestral synths and dense riffing, "In Vertigo" is a walloping first impression of what The Agonist are serving up on Orphans.

"When I heard the first instrumentals for Orphans I was a bit shocked and confused," comments frontwoman Vicky Psarakis. "The music was really dark and heavier than anything we've done in previous albums and I wasn't quite sure how I'd be able to match that emotion. But then you know all it took was writing one full song to get the ball rolling and 2-3 months later everything was done!"

She continues, "With every new album, we love to experiment and dip our toes into new territory, but there's also a lot of elements here that are reminiscent of the earlier days. You can expect a lot of hard hitting, fast-paced madness and many many blast beats!"

The song also finds the singer expanding her range. "Vocally, there's a wide range of styles, some of which I tried out for the first time and the lyrics are mostly inspired from horror stories and real-life tragedies, events that I felt a lot of people can relate to," Psarakis reveals. "Orphans is my third album with The Agonist and I can't wait to show the world what we created!"

Watch the video for "In Vertigo" below and see the album art and track listing for Orphans further down the page.

Pre-order the album here.

The Agonist, Orphans Album Art + Track Listing


01. "In Vertigo"
02. "As One We Survive"
03. "The Gift of Silence"
04. "Blood as My Guide"
05. "Mr. Cold"
06. "Dust to Dust"
07. "A Devil Made Me Do It"
08. "The Killing I"
09. "Orphans"
10. "Burn it All Down"

Best Metal Album of Each Year Since 1970


More From Loudwire