In recent years, Darryl "DMC" McDaniels has become a more prominent figure in rock and metal after helping to pioneer the rap genre with Run-DMC. Now, he's going full in by joining the new supergroup Fragile Mortals, which features members of Exodus and Generation Kill filling out the band.

In addition to DMC, the group features former Exodus vocalist Rob Dukes, ex-Pro Pain and M.O.D. bassist Rob Moschettie, Generation Kill guitarists Jason Trenczer and Jason Velez and drummer Rob Youells.

The group has been working together to finish up their debut disc, The Dark Project, which is on target for an Oct. 13 digital release via eOne Music. The album was produced by guitarist Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal, who also added his guitar and backing vocal talents to the disc. Bumblefoot also welcomed a string quartet into the studio to help give the group an original and experimental sound.

“Having been the first hip-hop group to collaborate with a rock band with Aerosmith and ‘Walk This Way,’ this genre has always been special to me,” says Darryl “DMC” McDaniels. “Collaborating with two musical geniuses in Moschetti and Bumblefoot, and a great frontman like Dukes, makes Fragile Mortals everything I hoped for.” The disc definitely has a social conscious, addressing issues ranging from suicide, drug abuse, prostitution, life and death and racism.

Check out the track listing for Fragile Mortals' The Dark Project below.

Fragile Mortals, The Dark Project Track Listing

1. Whispers of Death
2. The Big Lie
3. Bitch
4. Underneath the Skin
5. Lot Lizard
6. Suicide
7. Fired Up!
8. Bad Man
9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)

Exodus Albums Ranked

Get Tickets to the 2017 Loudwire Music Awards


More From Loudwire