Operation: Mindcrime, the hard rock outfit most notably featuring former Queensryche singer Geoff Tate, are set to release the second part of a musical trilogy, Resurrection, on Sept. 23 through Frontiers Music. Featuring a lengthy cast of iconic rock and metal musicians, the record will continue the story arc which began last year on The Key.

"The album Resurrection is the second part of our three album presentation or trilogy," states Tate, who went on to reveal details about the plot. "It continues the story that began on the first album, The Key, with the near death experience of the lead character known as 'H' and his subsequent recovery of the missing encryption key. With the Key finally in his possession, 'H' has everything he needs to finally launch his long awaited project called 'The New Reality.' Or does he..."

Going on to state what makes him particularly amped for the release, Tate exclaimed, "I'm excited for people to hear and experience Resurrection because I think it answers some of the questions that were posed in the first album, The Key. Musically, it offers some of the most diverse and challenging material that I've ever written."

Tate not only sang on Resurrection, but also contributed keyboard and saxophone performances as well. Also appearing on the record are guitarists Kelly Gray, Scott Moughton and Nick Greatrex, Randy Gane on keyboards, David Ellefson (Megadeth) and John Moyer (Disturbed) on bass, drummers Simon Wright (Dio, AC/DC), Scott Mercado and Brian Tichy (Dead Daisies, Whitesnake) as well as guest vocal spots from Tim 'Ripper' Owens (Judas Priest, Iced Earth), Blaze Bayley (Iron Maiden) and Mark Daily.

Speaking about his relationship with Ellefson, Tate told Loudwire, "I didn’t know Dave until recently. He is a very vibrant personality, very up and positive and a creative guy, who is constantly offering up creative suggestions, which I love that kind of personality. I’d much prefer working with somebody like that, who is offering up a number of different ideas rather than not offer up anything at all or waiting to kind of be told what to do. He is very confident in his playing and it shows. He can bark with the big dogs as they say, you know he’s not inhibited by insecurity."

Operation: Mindcrime, Resurrection Track Listing

01. "Resurrection"
02. "When All Falls Away"
03. "A Moment in Time"
04. "Through the Noize"
05. "Left for Dead"
06. "Miles Away"
07. "Healing My Wounds"
08. "The Fight"
09. "Taking on the World" (featuring Tim "Ripper" Owens and Blaze Bayley)
10. "Invincible"
11. "A Smear Campaign"
12. "Which Side You're On"
13. "Into the Hands of the World"
14. "Live From My Machine"

Best Metal Albums of 2016 (So Far)

See Geoff Tate in the 12 Greatest High Notes in Rock + Metal

More From Loudwire