On the heels of the release of Mastodon's latest album, 'Once More 'Round the Sun,' comes word that their debut album will be reissued. The deluxe version of 'Remission' will be released Aug. 5 via Relapse Records (watch preview trailer above).

'Remission' was released in May of 2002 and produced by Mat Bayles, who would also produce their second and third albums 'Leviathan' and 'Blood Mountain.' 'Remission' was very well received, and tracks like 'March of the Fire Ants' and 'Mother Puncher' are still played live by the band.

This edition of 'Remission' has been remixed and remastered. The CD cover art has been enhanced to showcase the iconic 'Remission' horse in a custom 3D embossing with a UV gloss, special custom varnish and foil stamping. There are also more than 24 pages of previously unreleased artwork from artist Paul Romano that was originally created for the album.

The CD version comes with a 'Remission' sticker while the 2xLP box set (limited to 2000 copies worldwide) includes a book featuring the new artwork from Romano along with an exclusive etching of the 'Remission' horse. A special black/gold vinyl box set edition is also available and comes with a special, full color Remission turntable slipmat. For pre-orders, go here.

Mastodon are currently in Europe, playing shows and festivals. They'll wrap that up July 19, with the next date on their calendar the Hopscotch Festival in Raleigh, N.C. on Sept 6. They also have a few other U.S. festivals lined up after that.

Mastodon - Remission
Relapse Records

Mastodon - 'Remission' Track Listing

1. 'Crusher Destroyer'
2. 'March Of The Fire Ants'
3. 'Where Strides The Behemoth'
4. 'Workhorse'
5. 'Ol'e Nessie'
6. 'Burning Man'
7. 'Trainwreck'
8. 'Trampled Under Hoof'
9. 'Trilobite'
10. 'Mother Puncher'
11. 'Elephant Man'