Nocturnus, as influential as they've been, had always loomed in the shadows of their Florida death metal contemporaries like Death, Deicide, Obituary and Morbid Angel. Original drummer and vocalist, Mike Browning (who was in an early incarnation of Morbid Angel), resurrected the group under Nocturnus A.D. and their long-awaited new album, Paradox, is finally coming. Hear the first single, "Precession of the Equinoxes," above.

A twisted, contorted heap of gnashing riffs and the sci-fi keyboard elements that have defined the Nocturnus sound for so long, "Precession of the Equinoxes" assuages the fear fans may have had about Browning tainting the legacy.

Paradox, out May 24 through Profound Lore, was produced by Jarret Pritchard (Goatwhore, 1349, Gruesome, Wolvhammer) at New Constellation Studios. Lyrically, the album is a thematic successor to Nocturnus' landmark debut, The Key, where Dr. Allen William Magus, a scientist ravaged by a war plague disease and kept alive by creating a bio suit, deals with the aftermath of the events laid out in The Key. 

"I think Paradox is a great successor to The Key," says Browning. "I didn't want to try and compete with what I did on that record or try and recreate it. I wanted to continue with the ideas and themes I never got to do back then."

Speaking about the song, the drummer/vocalist added, "'Precession of the Equinoxes' is a brand new song that talks about the shifting of the magnetic poles of Earth. And in fact right now the magnetic poles are shifting faster than ever; it has been in the news just in the last couple of months. It happens in 26,000 year cycles, so we humans have never experienced a pole shift to where its effects were recorded. It could be a huge, disastrous occurrence when they shift completely."

Pre-order the album here and check out the artwork and track listing below.

Nocturnus A.D., Paradox Album Art + Track Listing

Profound Lore
Profound Lore

1. "Seizing the Throne"
2. "The Bandar Sign"
3. "Paleolithic"
4. "Precession of the Equinoxes"
5. "The Antechamber"
6. "The Return of the Lost Key"
7. "Apotheosis"
8. "Aeon of the Ancient Ones"
9. "Number 9"

Best Death Metal Album of Each Year Since 1985


More From Loudwire