On her last album, The Shadow Self, heavy metal siren Tarja Turunen explored darker moods and themes. Each of her records embraces a specific style and tone and her new record, In the Raw, could be a contender for her most aggressive solo release yet if the new song "Dead Promises" is any indication of what's to come.

The song is a straightforward bruising rocker and despite the weight and upfront nature of the riffing, Tarja's voice, heavenly and operatic, is still the primary focus.

"I really like how the guitar sounds: in your face," Tarja said about "Dead Promises." "If I’m singing powerfully, I need something powerful behind me so that I don’t feel like I am left alone."

In the Raw, which will be released on Aug. 30 through earMUSIC, showcases a shimmering gold cover with an upward looking shot of the singer gracing the center. "Gold, we think, is something polished and perfect, sophisticated, a luxury – but in its natural state it’s a raw element," the singer explained, reflecting on the artwork, which can be viewed below along with the track listing.

Pre-order the album here and listen to "Dead Promises" below.

Tarja, In the Raw Album Art + Track Listing


01. "Dead Promises" (with Björn “Speed” Strid)
02. "Goodbye Stranger" (with Cristina Scabbia)
03. "Tears in Rain"
04. "Railroads"
05. "You and I"
06. "The Golden Chamber"
i. "Awaken"
ii. "Loputon yö"
iii. "Alchemy"
07. "Spirits of the Sea"
08. "Silent Masquerade" (with Tommy Karevik)
09. "Serene"
10. "Shadow Play"

Where Does Tarja Turunen Rank Among the Top 50 Hard Rock + Metal Frontwomen of All Time?


More From Loudwire