After an eight year studio drought, the Christian metalcore icons Underoath will finally put an release a new album on May 4 when Erase Me, their sixth album, drops on Fearless Records. It's an 11-track affair (see below for the listing and artwork) and while the opening single is dubbed "It Has to Start Somewhere," Underoath are starting somewhere else with the third track, "On My Teeth."

“We’ve had success and we’ve come through a lot of waters,” comments drummer/clean singer Aaron Gillespie. “There’s been 11,000 things we’ve been through so you would think, almost rhetorically, ‘What do you need now?’ All of us are finally in that place in our lives where the only thing we care about is inclusion for everybody—for the world. For me, exclusion is the scariest thing in the world. And I think Underoath coming back now with a new record—which none of us thought was possible—we want people to know that this is your music and you can feel however the fuck you want about it. I just want to prove that we are doing everything in the most honest way we ever have. This is the healthiest we’ve ever been as a group of people, as musicians, and in our worldview.”

"We took a step away and then we realized that we are a family,” added singer Spencer Chamberlain. “We do miss it and we miss each other. We made the decision to never play again as Underoath and then we let that sit a couple of years. Band members rebuilt themselves and their friendships — and then we rebuilt the band.”

Pre-orders for Erase Me go live at midnight (Feb. 23) and at 9PM PT (Feb. 22) and can be placed here.

Underoath, Erase Me Artwork + Track Listing

Fearless Records
Fearless Records

01. It Has To Start Somewhere
02. Rapture
03. On My Teeth
04. Wake Me
05. Bloodlust
06. Sink With You
07. Ihateit
08. Hold Your Breath
09. No Frame
10. In Motion
11. I Gave Up

25 Best Metalcore Albums of All Time


More From Loudwire