Anthrax's potential EP of cover songs has been discussed about for a while, but now there's finally confirmation that the thrash legends will indeed release the effort, titled 'Anthems,' on March 19. It will include covers of songs by AC/DC, Rush, Cheap Trick and more.

During an interview we conducted with Anthrax drummer Charlie Benante in June 2012, we got the exclusive scoop of the EP, which Benante claimed would serve as a celebration for the one-year anniversary of 'Worship Music,' which came and went in September 2012. Shortly after Benante broke the news, guitarist Scott Ian denied the drummer's claims, while singer Joey Belladonna stated that it was "a possibility" and that he hoped the EP would come to fruition.

Six months after Benante's original statement, the covers EP will finally be getting a release date of March 19. The 2013 Grammy nominees have also released some of the EP's track listing, which includes renditions of Rush's 'Anthem,' Thin Lizzy's 'Jailbreak,' AC/DC's 'TNT,' Cheap Trick's 'Big Eyes,' Boston's 'Smokin'' and Journey's 'Keep on Runnin',' among others yet to be confirmed.

According to our original interview with Benante, the drummer referred to the effort as a tribute to some of their favorite songs from some of their favorite bands.

Anthrax, who just tapped Shadows Fall guitarist Jon Donais to replace outgoing axeman Rob Caggiano, are set to headline the 2013 New England Metal and Hardcore Festival, along with this year's Metal Alliance tour, where they'll share the stage with Exodus, High on Fire, Municipal Waste and Holy Grail.