It's still the middle of summer, but Christmas will be here before you know it. August Burns Red plans to get you in the holiday spirit with their upcoming Christmas album August Burns Red Presents: 'Sleddin' Hill, A Holiday Album.' With an Oct. 9 street date via Solid State Records, the album will include holiday classics along with original songs. August Burns Red has released a holiday cover song each of the past four years, which will all be included on 'Sleddin' Hill.'

“The idea of doing a full Christmas album has been floating around in the ABR camp for a few years now, but what always held us back was finding the time and energy to write an additional full-length in between touring and writing our regular records,” explains guitarist and principal songwriter JB Brubaker. “After finishing (2011’s) 'Leveler' I finally felt inspired enough to tackle the Christmas album idea.”

The band decided to use some unexpected elements such as banjo, violin, cello, piano and horns on the album. “Because this was such a different type of album, I was able to get a little more wild with my influences,” says Brubaker. “There’s a section inspired by one of my favorite bands, Beirut. There’s also a guitar solo that is an ode to 'Blue Album'-era Weezer, and my punk roots are evident all over the album.”

“Writing metal versions of Christmas songs has always been a challenge for me because the songs are driven by simple vocal melodies with the only variety in the lyrics. We decided to take the songs and go the instrumental route - the main melodies are there, but this record has a lot more to it then that,” Brubaker adds. “The songs have sections of music that flow in and out of the classic melodies we've all come to recognize. There is a lot of substance in these songs- more than you'd find in your typical cover.”

August Burns Red will embark on a North American tour with Of Mice & Men, The Color Morale and The Overseer beginning Aug. 31. After that they'll head to Europe for a four week, 12 country trek.

August Burns Red Presents: 'Sleddin’ Hill, A Holiday Album' Track Listing

1. 'Flurries'
2. 'Frosty the Snowman'
3. 'Sleigh Ride'
4. 'God Rest Ye’ Merry Gentlemen'
5. 'Jingle Bells'
6. 'Oh Holy Night'
7. 'Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer'
8. 'Sleddin’ Hill'
9. 'Little Drummer Boy'
10. 'Winter Wonderland'
11. 'O Come, O Come Emmanuel'
12. 'Carol of the Bells' (2012)
13. 'We Wish You a Merry Christmas'

More From Loudwire