The Marcus Hook Roll Band may not immediately be on the tip of your tongue when it comes to the history of rock, but hard rock music lovers owe a debt of gratitude to the early '70s outfit. It was there that AC/DC brothers Malcolm and Angus Young got their start, and now the band's first album, 'Tales of Old Grand-Daddy,' is getting a re-release.

Newcomers Malcolm and Angus formed the group with their brother George Young and guitarist Harry Vanda, both of whom had prior success with The Easybeats. George Young recalls, "We had Harry, myself and my kid brothers, Malcolm and Angus. We all got rotten, except for Angus, who was too young, and we spent a month in there boozing it up every night. That was the first thing Malcolm and Angus did before AC/DC. We didn't take it very seriously, so we thought we'd include them to give them an idea of what recording was all about."

For those wondering about the title, there was actually no person named Marcus Hook associated with the group. It was just the Young brothers and Vanda, who existed solely as a studio group, where they released one album and a trio of singles.

That disc, 1973's 'Tales of Old Grand-Daddy,' will be released on June 3 via Parlophone in CD, vinyl and digital download formats. The title comes from the 'Old Grand-Dad' bourbon that was a mainstay at the studio during the recording sessions.

The Marcus Hook Roll, 'Tales of Old Grand-Daddy' Track Listing

1. 'Can't Stand the Heat'
2. 'Goodbye Jane'
3. 'Quick Reaction'
4. 'Silver Shoes & Strawberry Wine'
5. 'Watch Her Do It Now'
6. 'People and the Power'
7. 'Red Revolution'
8. 'Shot in the Head'
9. 'Ape Man'
10. 'Cry for Me'
11. 'One of These Days' (Previously Unreleased)
12. 'Natural Man' (1972 A-Side)
13. 'Moonshine Blues' (1974 B-Side)
14. 'Louisiana Lady' (1973 A-Side)
15. 'Ride Baby Ride' (Previously Unreleased)