As Foo Fighters fans anxiously await the band's next album, drummer Taylor Hawkins is keeping busy with another side project band. He's formed the Birds of Satan with bassist Wile Hodgden and guitarist Mick Murphy, who are also in his cover band Chevy Metal. Their self-titled debut album will be released April 15. Watch a trailer for the album below.

Appearing on 'The Birds of Satan' are Hawkins' Foo Fighters bandmates Dave Grohl and Pat Smear along with the band's touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee. Percussionist Drew Hester also guests. The album was produced by John Lousteau (Foo Fighters, Against Me!)

As far as the musical direction of 'The Birds of Satan,' the press materials describe various songs as prog rock, balladry, hard rock and a track with "the first documented recorded Eddie Van Halen-style guitar solo of this decade." Pre-orders are available at this location and on iTunes.

Work is underway on Foo Fighters next album, with a release date expected sometime this year. The band has only one show currently on their tour schedule at June's Firefly Music Festival.

Watch The Birds of Satan Album Trailer

The Birds of Satan, 'The Birds of Satan' Track Listing

1. 'The Ballad of the Birds of Satan'
2. 'Thanks for the Line'
3. 'Pieces of the Puzzle'
4. 'Raspberries'
5. 'Nothing at All'
6. 'Wait Til Tomorrow'
7. 'Too Far Gone to See'

More From Loudwire