Welcome back, Green Day! After issuing a trio of albums in 2012 and taking some well deserved time off, the Rock and Roll Hall of Famers are back with a new album that's on schedule for an October release. The disc is titled Revolution Radio and it will arrive in stores and online Oct. 7 via Reprise Records. In addition, Green Day are getting the ball rolling on the disc by issuing the new lyric video for the single "Bang Bang" (seen above).

The album, described as "a potent 12-track blitz of angst-ridden anthems that unites Green Day's fully formed stylistic approach with lyrical themes that address the complexities and uncertainties of modern day existence," was recorded in the band's home base of Oakland, Calif.

Speaking about the album, singer Billie Joe Armstrong stated, "Of course the world has lost its collective mind ... and me, Mike and Tre are lost souls too. Revolution Radio is a movement for lost souls to come together ... sing together ... and most of all, find each other. That's what the spirit of Green Day has been about since Day One."

As for "Bang Bang," it's a high-energy but very biting song, written from the perspective of a mass shooter. Armstrong tells Rolling Stone, "It's about the culture of mass shootings that happens in America mixed with the narcissistic social media. There's this sort of rage happening, but it's also now being filmed and we all have ourselves under surveillance. To me, that is so twisted. To get into the brain of someone like that was freaky. It freaked me out. After I wrote it, all I wanted to do was get out of my brain because it just freaked me out."

The rocker adds, "I don't know why someone would ever do something that horrific because I know I never would. It's just sort of meant to also reflect the culture a little bit without sounding pretentious."

Those interested in pre-ordering Revolution Radio can now do so via a number of options on a dedicated page set up by the band. As stated, the album will arrive on Oct. 7 and you can check out the track listing below.

Green Day, Revolution Radio Track Listing

1. "Somewhere Now"
2. "Bang Bang"
3. "Revolution Radio"
4. "Say Goodbye"
5. "Outlaws"
6. "Bouncing Off the Wall"
7. "Still Breathing"
8. "Youngblood"
9. "Too Dumb To Die"
10. "Troubled Times"
11. "Forever Now"
12. "Ordinary World"

Green Day Albums Ranked

Check Out Billie Joe Armstrong in Our Top 10 Hard Rock Smackdowns:

More From Loudwire