They're. Back. The 21st century hasn't been an absolute highlight for one of death metal's finest institutions, Morbid Angel. Eight long years after issuing Heretic in 2003, the band released the widely panned Illud Divinum Insanus, marking their first studio effort with David Vincent back at the bass and vocal helm since 1995's Domination. Fans decried the band's implementation of more electronic and industrial-leaning songs and Vincent's ill-fated foray into rap-like cadences at times, but all the wrongs appear to be righted on "Piles of Little Arms," the first single off the newly announced Kingdoms Disdained.

In recent years, sole constant Trey Azagthoth churned the band's entire lineup, linking back up with Tucker while recruiting new axeman Dan Vadim Von and skin-basher Scott Fuller in the process. Fans got a taste of what this group was capable of as Morbid Angel performed the heaving new track "Warped" (which now appears to be titled "Paradigms Warped" per the track listing seen below) on tour and now they've countered the bludgeoning snail-paced offerings with "Piles of Little Arms," a song that comes across as their most savage since releasing Gateways to Annihilation in 2000.

"Piles of Little Arms" is the classic Morbid Angel song fans have been begging for, cruising through erratic tempo changes driven by Azagthoth's serrated, serpentine riffing attack. Fuller's presence behind the kit is leveling and his performance here is persuasive enough to overcome the most ardent Pete Sandoval supporters' suspicions.

“The album title says it all. Everybody’s fed up and nobody can figure out how to fix it. We’ve got all these miniature wars in neighborhoods, cities, countries and we’ve got people with varying opinions causing chaos, yet everyone is doing what they feel is right. Which all makes it feels like the world has reached a point of utter madness and confusion," comments Tucker.

Kingdoms Disdained is set for a Dec. 1 release date through Silver Lining Music worldwide and JVC in Japan. Pre-order your copy here and receive an instant gratification download of "Piles of Little Arms."

Morbid Angel, Kingdoms Disdained Album Art + Track Listing

Silver Line Music
Silver Line Music

01. "Piles of Little Arms"
02. "D.E.A.D"
03. "Garden of Disdain"
04. "The Righteous Voice"
05. "Architect and Iconoclast"
06. "Paradigms Warped"
07. "The Pillars Crumbling"
08. "For No Master"
09. "Declaring New Law (Secret Hell)"
10. "From the Hand of Kings"
11. "The Fall of Idols"

Morbid Angel Albums Ranked

10 Greatest Death Metal Bands

Get Tickets to the 2017 Loudwire Music Awards


More From Loudwire