It was fitting that three members of Slipknot hit the stage to present an honor that's new to the Revolver Golden Gods this year, and an equally fitting name for it -- the Paul Gray Best Bassist Award. Gray was, after all, Slipknot's bassist until his tragic death in May 2010 from a drug overdose, and a very skilled one at that. Bass players are often the unsung hero of the band, but nobody ever overlooked Gray -- during his life or after his passing.

The nominees for Best Bassist were Dave Ellefson of Megadeth, Fieldy of Korn, Nikki Sixx of Sixx: A.M. and Motley Crue, Frank Bello of Anthrax and Michael Anthony of Chickenfoot. It was a strong field of exceptionally talented four-stringers, but only one could win -- and that winner was Nikki Sixx.

Sixx expressed his deepest gratitude to the fans, whose votes were responsible for him winning the award. He seemed to be truly touched by the honor.


More From Loudwire