Stryper frontman Michael Sweet has been on quite a tear in recent years, staying in the limelight, alternating releases between the seminal Christian metal outfit and his solo career. One Sided War will serve as his seventh solo studio effort, following up 2014's I'm Not Your Suicide.

The record will see an Aug. 26 release through Rat Pak Records, bringing 12 tracks in total (one bonus track), standing as a diverse collection of songs ranging from purely ripping '80s metal styles, rounded out by harder rock elements and one ballad showcasing his croon alongside his famous wail. Sweet is surrounded by a stellar supporting cast on One Sided War, featuring Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake) and Ethan Brosh on guitar, drummer Will Hunt (Evanescence) and bassist John O'Boyle.

Rat Pak Records
Rat Pak Records

“Musically it’s my heaviest solo album," Sweet began when describing the record. "It’s not thrash metal but there are definitely some songs on there that will pop out at you. There are some songs that have a bit of the Iron Maiden / Dio feel to them, as well as some songs that have a little bit of a Van Halen influence to them. It’s a very guitar-oriented, hard rock/metal album with lots of melodies and hooks."

Get a taste of the new album in the promo video above. Pre-orders can be placed at Rat Pak Records' webstore, where bundle options are offered as well. The largest bundle will arrive with a CD copy of One Sided War signed by Sweet, a 16 page lyric booklet, deluxe jewel case edition with an album-related sticker, a limited print insert and signature guitar pick.

Michael Sweet, One Sided War Track Listing

01. "Bizarre"
02. "One Sided War"
03. "Can't Take This Life"
04. "Radio"
05. "Golden Age"
06. "Only You"
07. "I Am"
08. "Who Am I"
09. "You Make Me Wanna"
10. "Comfort Zone"
11. "One Way Up"
12. "Can't Take This Life"*
* bonus track feat. Moriah Formica

Best Metal Albums of 2016 (So Far)

You Think You Know Hair Metal?