It was recently revealed that members of Mastodon, At the Drive-In and Queens of the Stone Age had collaborated on a new project called Gone Is Gone. Now we have the first piece of music from the band.

The group finds Mastodon's Troy Sanders on bass and vocals, Queens of the Stone Age's Troy Van Leeuwen on guitar and At the Drive-In's Tony Hajjar on drums, with guitarist/keyboardist Mike Zarin rounding out the band. Hajjar and Zarin had worked on some score music together before deciding they had something that went beyond the scope of their scoring. They enlisted Van Leeuwen almost immediately, then approached Sanders once they had some music to share.

The first piece of music from the band is a track called "Violescent." Gone Is Gone recently shared a snippet of the song when announcing their formation, but the full song just debuted at Zane Lowe's Apple Music show and you can hear it in the video above. As you might expect with Sanders involved, the track is a heavy offering with his vocals and bass cutting through what overall is a very grungy and chaotic backing. Sanders says of the song, “Calming the inner beast and creating separation between yourself and the caged animal, hungry with destructive intent. Bridging negative experiences of the past into a new and colorful light, becoming your 'violescent self'. Desiring to better your personal environment and those who surround you, you must first better yourself.”

The song will be featured on Gone Is Gone's self-titled debut album, which is now on schedule for a July 8 release through Rise Records. The full track listing for the disc can be seen below as well as the album cover and the album is now available for pre-order via iTunes.

Gone Is Gone will make their live debut as a band on April 27 at the Dragonfly in Los Angeles. At present, no other dates have been announced.

Gone Is Gone, Gone Is Gone Album Art

Rise Records / BMG
Rise Records / BMG

Gone Is Gone, Gone Is Gone Track Listing

1. "Violescent"
2. "Starlight"
3. "Stolen From Me"
4. "Character"
5. "One Divided"
6. "Praying From the Danger"
7. "Recede and Enter"
8. "This Chapter"

You Think You Know Mastodon?

More From Loudwire