Master shock rocker Alice Cooper is one of rock's most enduring acts, pioneering theatrical stage shows, genius marketing ploys and crafting devilish music while serving as a symbol of the counter culture for nearly half a century. Paranormal will be the staggering 27th studio album under the Alice Cooper moniker and the track listing has just been released along with the first single, "Paranoiac Personality."

The song opens with a thumping bass line, immediately calling to mind iconic opening moments off classic Alice numbers like "Dead Babies," "Welcome to My Nightmare" and "Blue Turk." Throughout the years, Alice's sound has kept with current trends in music and with the retro rock movement in full bloom, "Paranoiac Personality" mixes modern hard rock elements (the "Time to go" backing chants) in with more classic sounds like the finger-snapping verse.

“In a big way, it really captures the core of the album. Paranormal feels like a play with three themes that are pretty different from each other, but they create a whole picture that’s very interesting, and really typical of the early Alice albums," co-writer, co-producer and guitarist Tommy Denander told Ultimate Classic Rock about the single. Contiuing, he said, "The main theme is based around five songs Alice, Bob, Tommy Henriksen and I wrote the music for. Theme two is the vibe created with the original Alice Cooper band – Neal [Smith, drums], Dennis [Dunaway, bass] and Michael [Bruce, guitar], with the help of me and Tommy. Theme three is a couple of songs picked by Bob [Ezrin, longtime producer] and Alice that sort of live their own lives. The diversity makes the album extra-interesting."

Paranormal will be released on July 28 through earMUSIC and fans can place their pre-orders (MP3, CD or vinyl) at Amazon. Catch Alice Cooper on tour this summer providing direct support for Deep Purple with additional support coming from the Edgar Winter Group, who will open each night. For a list of all tour stops, head to this location.

Alice Cooper, Paranormal Track Listing

01. "Paranormal"
02. "Dead Flies"
03. "Fireball"
04. "Paranoiac Personality"
05. "Fallen in Love"
06. "Dynamite Road"
07. "Private Public Breakdown"
08. "Holy Water"
09. "Rats"
10. "The Sound of A"

"Genuine American Girl"*
"You and All of Your Friends"*
* studio recordings with the original Alice Cooper band

Alice Cooper, Paranormal Album Cover


See Alice Cooper + 25 More Bands Who Sound Nothing Like Their First Album

Where Does Alice Cooper Rank Among the 10 Greatest Live Acts in Hard Rock + Metal?

More From Loudwire