Ever since the departure of vocalist Eddie Hermida, All Shall Perish have been pretty silent. This all changed following the band's big announcement in celebration of Back to the Future Day. The deathcore act revealed some major news on their Facebook page (post below) welcoming the return of Hermida along with three other original members of the band.

Following the death of Suicide Silence frontman Mitch Lucker in 2012, Hermida joined that group in 2013, which led to complications between the two bands. In an interview with Metal Injection, then bassist Mike Tiner detailed the issues, explaining, "“All Shall Perish could not play a show until Eddie was well “established” as the new singer of Suicide Silence. Suicide Silence’s management told us that they would have to be well into their new album and touring cycle before All Shall Perish could be seen again with Eddie. That is easily a year of All Shall Perish not being “allowed” to do anything; possibly more than a year. There were other rules, too, but this one was huge.”

Ultimately, this led to the band dismissing Hermida from the group, with dismay expressed from both camps. Everything is back on track though as All Shall Perish are excited to announce to only Hermida's return, but other former members as well, including guitarists Chris Storey and Ben Orum, drummer Matt Kuykendall and guitarist turned bassist Caysen Russo. The band's founding singer Craig Betit will also contribute vocals to the group.

The post from the band's Facebook page states:

October 21, 2015 at 4:29pm, We are descending on California and the world....


Happy Back To The Future Day from All Shall Perish!

“DOC! THIS IS HEAVY!” – Marty McFly


Hernan “Eddie” Hermida – Vocals

Ben Orum – Guitar

Chris Storey – Guitar

Caysen Russo – Bass

Matt Kuykendall – Drums

Craig Betit – Additional VoKills

San Francisco, CA – How perfect that today is Back to the Future Day! All Shall Perish co-founders Matt Kuykendall, Ben Orum, and Caysen Russo are back together with Hernan “Eddie” Hermida and Chris Storey. (Start the DeLorean!). The “deathcore” titans hailed by fellow Bay Area dwellers like Kirk Hammett (Metallica) and Robb Flynn (Machine Head) are making new music. Hermida fronted All Shall Perish on all three of their most recent albums: The Price of Existence (2006), Awaken the Dreamers (2008), and This is Where it Ends (2011). Hermida will continue in his role as full-time vocalist for Suicide Silence. Orum plays guitar on all four All Shall Perish albums. Kuykendall, who created the name All Shall Perish, drums on all but the most recent. Storey was a fan-favorite guitarist from 2003 to 2009. Hate, Malice, Revenge (2003) era guitarist Russo returns to the fold. Original vocalist Craig Betit also plans to contribute.

Nearing the conclusion of a legal arbitration over control of the band’s name, unpaid royalties, and other assets, bassist Mike Tiner declined a personal invitation from Kuykendall to rejoin his ex-bandmates. The legal system ultimately ruled in favor of the four out of five original members, their longtime vocalist, and guitarist. Russo will handle bass duties for All Shall Perish.

Hermida, Storey, Kuykendall, Orum, Russo, and Betit now look forward to putting their music in front of the court of public opinion: the fans, ensuring the legacy of All Shall Perish remains secure. Back to the Future Day, indeed!

Meanwhile, drummer Adam Pierce, who was in the band since 2010, reached out via Twitter to express his disappointment in not being invited back into the band:

So, All Shall Perish fans, what do you think? The band never announced a new vocalist following Hermida's dismissal and have not released any material since 2011's This is Where It Ends. The album title was beginning to look a bit ominous, but everyone can breathe easy now that one of the genre's best are back in the fold.

Top 25 Extreme Metal Albums of All Time

10 Epic Walls of Death