It’s about time, Dimmu Borgir! The Norwegian black metallers will release their first album in eight years, Eonian, later this year.

After putting out albums on a very regular basis since 1995, Dimmu Borgir went through a very uncharacteristic dry spell since 2010’s Abrahadabra. Vocalist Shagrath and guitarists Silenoz and Galder remain as Dimmu’s songwriting core for Eonian, while drummer Daray and keyboardist Gerlioz remain part of the team. Gaute Storaas helped with choral arrangements for the album, sung by the Schola Cantrum Choir.

"Time, when not approaching it from the construct we're used to can't be defined and thus it is illusory," explains Silenoz. "There's only an 'eternal now,' which the album title is already hinting at. When we travel between the worlds seen and unseen, the perception of time ceases to exist, it has no function. Our energy is our torch and our compass when we make rifts and pierce through the veil — when we go beyond."

Silenoz also claims the 10-track album will feel “more epic and majestic” while harnessing the “brutal” and “primitive” black metal sound of Dimmu Borgir.

"Eonian represents the illusion of time, everything that is and always has been,” adds Shagrath. “For us, it also marks the 25th anniversary of Dimmu Borgir and the album itself is a tribute to our own history and the Norwegian black metal history."

Dimmu Borgir’s Eonian will be released May 4 via Nuclear Blast. Fans can pre-order Eonian here. The album’s first single, “Interdimensional Summit,” will hit fans on Feb. 23, so get excited for some new Dimmu!

Dimmu Borgir, Eonian Album Cover

Nuclear Blast
Nuclear Blast

See Dimmu Borgir in the 50 Most Important Metal Bands in the 21st Century

More From Loudwire