God Dethroned are back with their second album since reforming in 2014 after a two-year dissolution period. Illuminati marks the 11th record from the blackened melodic death metal horde and they've released a music video for the title track, which can be viewed below.

What's heard on "Illuminati" is a step in a newer direction for God Dethroned as they begin on a more atmospheric note with bleak melodies setting the tone on the album opener. The churning mid-tempo groove calls to mind earlier career highlights such as "Soulsweeper" and "Salt in Your Wounds." Lyrically, it's no mystery what they're onto — secret societies and cults!

Before you get to the song, here's what vocalist/guitarist Henri Sattler had to say about God Dethroned's forthcoming effort:

Freemasons, occultists and conspiracy theory enthusiasts pay attention! God Dethroned is back to smack you in the face with our new album called 'Illuminati'. After finishing the World War One trilogy, it was about time to go back to dark side with songs about religion, freemasonry and the occult. Song titles like "Spirit of Beelzebub," "Broken Halo," "Book of Lies" and "Satan Spawn" leave very little to the imagination as to what to expect from us from a lyrical point of view.

But those of you who expected us to go back into a raging frenzy of endless blast beats and buzzsaw blade guitar sounds better beware. 'Illuminati' is our most varied album to date with a heavy, yet in-your-face type of production. We managed to make our sound bigger and more orchestral than ever before with the use of both atmospheric keyboard parts and many additional vocal parts such as choirs and grunt-on-tone type of vocals. There is a lot to be discovered in the songs of this album because of the many details hidden in the music that will only reveal itself after many listens, and at the same time the tunes on 'Illuminati' are catchier than ever before.

Lovers of Rhandy Roads-meets-Marty Friedman type of melodic guitar solos should definitely give Dave Meester's spectacular leads a listen. Dave was welcomed to the band's line-up during the European tour with Belphegor and Suffocation and stayed within our ranks ever since. Former guitar player Mike Ferguson however contributed greatly to 'Illuminati' by writing several stunning songs and riffs as well as recording half of all the rhythm tracks on the album. We wish him all the best in his future endeavors.

Illuminati arrives Feb. 7 on Metal Blade. Pre-order your copy here and view the album art and track listing beneath the video.

God Dethroned, "Illuminati" Music Video

God Dethroned, Illuminati Album Art + Track Listing

Metal Blade
Metal Blade

1. "Illuminati"
2. "Broken Halo"
3. "Book of Lies"
4. "Spirit of Beelzebub"
5. "Satan Spawn"
6. "Gabriel"
7. "Eye of Horus"
8. "Dominus Muscarum"
9. "Blood Moon Eclipse"

Playlist: 66 Best Metal Songs of 2019

50 Best Metal Albums of 2019


More From Loudwire