In these divisive times, couldn't we use a little bit of unity? Luckily we've got a blistering new song from rock vets Live helping to pave that path: their song "Brother" is premiering exclusively right here at Loudwire.

Singer Ed Kowalczyk tells us of the high energy track, "'Brother' is kind of all over the place with regard to a specific meaning, having been written as most of my lyrics are; in a 'stream of consciousness' type of space, but I guess if I were to nail it down in any way, I would say that it's a song about hope and believing that we share far more in common as human beings than the things that seem to divide us.” Listen to "Brother" in the player below.

And speaking of uniting as human beings, the band's new EP, Local 717, will be the first collection of new material from the original lineup of the band in over a decade. The record, due this Friday (Oct. 12), is currently available to pre-order via iTunes, Apple Music or to stream via Spotify.

Local 717 was produced by the band's Chad Taylor at Think Loud Studios in the band's hometown of York, Pa., with additional recording done at Foo Fighters' Studio 606 in Los Angeles. The EP comes on the heels of their reunion tour, featuring four original tracks, plus a cover of The Velvet Underground's "Venus in Furs."

Live, "Brother"

Live, Local 717 EP Artwork + Track Listing

Kavalry Records
Kavalry Records

1. Love Lounge
2. Be a Giver, Man
3. Waterfall
4. Brother
5. Venus in Furs

10 Unforgettable Onstage Reunions

More From Loudwire