Operation: Mindcrime, the new band created by singer Geoff Tate after his falling out with Queensryche, have released a video for their new song “Re-Inventing the Future.” Watch the clip in the player above.

“Re-inventing the Future” is the first single off the band’s upcoming debut album The Key. The song is a bit reminiscent of the Queensryche’s song “The Mission” and the bridge is similar to the heavy guitar-driven peak of “Suite Sister Mary,” both fittingly off the band’s Operation: Mindcrime album. The video was directed by Jamie Burton Chamberlin and features the band performing with images of the past and digital video effects interspersed on top.

Operation: Mindcrime will release their debut album, The Key, on Sept. 18, via Frontiers Music. According to a press release, the effort is all about "expanding minds through music by pondering the discovery of 'The Key' that could change the way we perceive the world."

The Key is the first part of Operation: Mindcrime’s trilogy project, which Tate started in 2014. He explained, “I tried to reduce the story and eventually got it down to 37 ideas that need representing to complete the story. I knew that one record wouldn’t cover it and that it would have to be a trilogy.” Tate added, "I think fans will continue to enjoy the music we create and perform together and hope they share this new musical journey with us." The track listing is available below. Fans can pre-order the effort now at Amazon.

Operation: Mindcrime recently released a video teaser with snippets of four songs from the album including “Burn, “Re-Inventing the Future,” "Life or Death?” and “The Fall.” Click here to listen.

Tate’s group, named after Queensryche’s seminal 1988 concept album Operation: Mindcrime, is a seven-piece band comprised of Disturbed / Adrenaline Mob bassist John Moyer, drummers Simon Wright (AC/DC / Dio) and Brian Tichy (Whitesnake / Ozzy Osbourne), keyboardist Randy Gane, along with guitarists Kelly Gray (formerly of Queensryche) and Scott Moughton. The effort also features guest appearances from Megadeth bassist David Ellefson and Candlebox drummer Scott Mercado.

Meanwhile, Queensryche are continuing to move forward without Tate and will release their new album, Condition Human, via Century Media Records on Oct 2.

Operation: Mindcrime’s Track Listing for The Key:

1. “Choices”
2. “Burn”
3. “Re-Inventing The Future”
4. “Ready To Fly”
5. “Discussions In A Smoke Filled Room”
6. “Life or Death?”
7. “The Stranger”
8. “Hearing Voice”
9. “On Queue”
10. “An Ambush Of Sadness”
11. “Kicking In The Door”
12. “The Fall”

More From Loudwire