Having spent almost the last three years on the road in support of their 2008 release 'The Sound of Madness,' Shinedown has recently returned to the studio to start writing new material. Once again, the band's producer of choice, Rob Cavallo, is back behind the boards.

Since the band hit mainstream success last time out, with 'The Sound of Madness' debuting at #8 on the Billboard 200 and spawning six #1 singles, the band logically chose Grammy Award winner Cavallo to again man the ship for their new disc. Shinedown lead vocalist Brent Smith credits Cavallo with bringing out the best in the band. "To say we are emotionally charged to start recording the new album would be a huge understatement. Everyone hold on tight, this is going to be intense!” advises Smith.

Although the band has been tight lipped about the writing process, Cavallo has gone on record to report that the new songs have surmounted even his lofty expectations. "I knew that they would deliver, but they’ve even surpassed my high expectations with the songs they’ve brought to the table this time around. I can’t wait to get started.”

Fans will have to be patient since the band is anticipating an early 2012 release date, but as Shinedown has proven to us time and time again, good things come to those who wait.

In the meantime, fans can enjoy the wait for a new album with our list of the 10 Best Shinedown Songs.

More From Loudwire