The Soundgarden comeback is officially underway as they have posted a clip of 'Live to Rise' -- their first completely new song to be heard in nearly 16 years -- which is taken from the soundtrack for the upcoming blockbuster 'The Avengers.'

Soundgarden's new album is one of the most anticipated releases set for 2012. The band went on hiatus -- then billed as a break up -- at the peak of their popularity in 1997, not even a year after the release of 'Down on the Upside.' Despite several Chris Cornell-led projects following their split, fans have always remained hungry for his return to the grunge heavyweights. Today, those fans get their first taste of new Soundgarden.

Soundgarden has posted a clip of the song 'Live to Rise' from the 'Avengers Assemble' soundtrack, which will be released just three days before the film on May 1. While the 22-second snippet doesn't feature vocals, it does spotlight the track's the lumbering riff.

'Live to Rise' will be the band's third unheard studio recording to be released since their return -- the first two being 'Black Rain' and 'The Telephantasm' -- both previously unreleased tracks the band finished and included on their 2010 retrospective, 'Telephantasm.'

Soundgarden are set to release a new album at some point this year -- recent reports indicate that the planned spring release may have been pushed to fall 2012. They will also embark on a brief tour in 2012, beginning with their May 25 appearance at the Sonisphere Festival in Madrid, Spain.

Hear a Snippet of Soundgarden's 'Live to Rise'
'Avengers Assemble' Soundtrack Track Listing:

1. "Live to Rise" - Soundgarden
2. "I'm Alive" - Shinedown
3. "Dirt and Roses" - Rise Against
4. "Even If I Could" - Papa Roach
5. "Unbroken" - Black Veil Brides
6. "Breath" - Scott Weiland
7. "Comeback" - Redlight King
8. "Into the Blue" - Bush
9. "A New Way to Bleed (Photek Remix)" - Evanescence
10. "Count Me Out" - PUSHERJONES
11. "Shoot to Thrill" - Theory of a Deadman
12. "Wherever I Go" - Buckcherry
13. "From Out of Nowhere" - Five Finger Death Punch
14. "Shake the Ground" - Cherri Bomb
Additional track on the international release:
15. "Pistols At Dawn" - Kasabian