Temple of the Dog kicked off their first-ever tour last night (Nov. 4) in Upper Darby, Pa., treating fans to a 23 song set that included a wide range of cover songs among all 10 tracks off their solo eponymous release. The group performed classics from Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, the Cure, David Bowie, Free and even six songs from Mother Love Bone from which Temple of the Dog formed after that group's demise.

The set opened up with "Say Hello 2 Heaven," the first track off Temple of the Dog, followed three more originals before diving into some of the members' own history with a pair of Mother Love Bone tracks, "Stardog Champion" and "Stargazer." With Chris Cornell up front, the group performed his solo track "Seasons" and it was clear the night was going to be unpredictable from song to song.

Among the cover selections were Black Sabbath's iconic "War Pigs" (seen below) and Led Zeppelin's Presence song, "Achilles Last Stand" (also seen below). Temple of the Dog also tackled Free's "I'm a Mover" and David Bowie's "Quicksand." Check out the full setlist below.

Despite the group consisting of Cornell (Soundgarden) and Mike McCready, Jeff Ament, Matt Cameron and Stone Gossard (all of Pearl Jam), the night did not include covers of either group. Speaking with Rolling Stone in August, both Cornell and McCready thought it best to keep this tour more unique, with Cornell offering, “I feel like that doesn’t feel right in my gut." McCready echoed this notion, adding, “That’s nothing that I talked about with anybody. It’s just you asking and me reacting. It doesn’t feel like the right thing, but I might change my mind. I’d love for this to be its own thing. We can maybe do some [Mother] Love Bone songs and some cool covers. But if Chris wants to do ‘Better Man,’ please. That’s fine with me.”

Temple of the Dog will be on the road through Nov. 20 and a list of remaining stops can be found at our 2016 Guide to Rock + Metal Tours.

Temple of the Dog, "War Pigs" (Black Sabbath)

Temple of the Dog, "Achilles Last Stand" (Led Zeppelin)

Temple of the Dog Setlist:

01. Say Hello 2 Heaven
02. Wooden Jesus
03. Call Me A Dog
04. Your Savior
05. Stardog Champion (Mother Love Bone)
06. Stargazer (Mother Love Bone)
07. Seasons (Chris Cornell solo song)
08. Jump Into the Fire (Harry Nilsson)
09. Four Walled World
10. I'm a Mover (Free)
11. Pushin Forward Back
12. Hunger Strike
13. Quicksand (David Bowie)
14. Heartshine (Mother Love Bone)
15. Holy Roller (Mother Love Bone)
16. Reach Down

First Encore:
17. Man Of Golden Words (Mother Love Bone) with Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd)
18. Times Of Trouble
19. Achilles Last Stand (Led Zeppelin)
20. Baby Lemonade (Syd Barrett)
21. Fascination Street (The Cure)
22. War Pigs (Black Sabbath)

Second Encore:
23. All Night Thing

Top 90 Hard Rock + Metal Albums of the 1990s

10 Unforgettable Onstage Reunions