After a long wait and some teaser information from drummer Gene Hoglan, Brendon Small's Galaktikon are back, set to release Galaktikon II: Become the Storm this summer, following up the 2012 debut. After the initial album announcement in late May, the rest of the details have emerged and a contest has been launched where fans can enter to win a test press vinyl copy of the record.

The album will bring 11 new tracks from the creative mind of the creator of the hit animated series Metalocalypse and its feature band DethklokGalaktikon II: Become the Storm promises to follow in the footsteps of the debut's space-age theme, carrying its own conceptual storyline running against the set of "heavier, darker and more brutal" tracks (listing below).

"I'm extremely proud to be the drum dude on the album of the year, Brendon Small's Galaktikon II: Become The Storm," declared Hoglan, adding, "It really does encapsulate Brendon's approach towards music over the years into an incredible amalgamation of his style, as well as mine. The ferocity of Dethklok, the melody of Galaktikon and the grandeur of The Doomstar Requiem are all supremely represented in this kick ass record and I, for one, deem it to be required listening for anyone demanding that the music they listen to be ball-crushingly glorious."

Galaktikon II: Become the Storm will be released on Aug. 25 through Megaforce Records/MRI and pre-orders are available now on CD, original vinyl, picture disc vinyl and digitally through iTunes or Amazon.

For fans hoping to score the aforementioned test press vinyl copy of the album can follow/subscribe to any of the band's social media pages (Twitter, YouTube, Instagram or Facebook) and proceed to post about the album using the hashtag #GALAKTIKONII for automatic entry. The winner will be announced on June 30.

Last year, Brendon Small guested on the Loudwire Podcast, detailing the complication of getting the Metalocalypse finale off the ground after butting heads with Adult Swim. Find out what issues stand in the way and more in the video at the bottom of the page.

Galaktikon, Galaktikon II: Become the Storm Track Listing

01. "Some Days Are for Dying"
02. "Icarus Six Sixty Six"
03. "The Agenda"
04. "The Ocean Galaktik"
05. "My Name Is Murder"
06. "Become the Storm"
07. "Nightmare"
08. "Could This Be the End"
09. "To Kill a God"
10. "Exitus"
11. "Rebuilding a Planet"

Best Metal Albums of 2017 (So Far)

Loudwire Podcast #7: Brendon Small / Devin Townsend

More From Loudwire