Dutch symphonic metal band Epica will release their latest album 'The Quantum Enigma' on May 6, and they have just unleashed the lyric video for the song 'The Essence of Silence' from the forthcoming album (watch above).

The track is vintage Epica, with heavy guitars, a lot of atmosphere and 'beauty and the beast' vocals from Simone Simons and Mark Jansen.

“‘The Essence of Silence’ is a little taste of what's yet to come, but this song raises the bar of Epica's music once again," says drummer Ariën van Weesenbeek. "Get ready to bang your head on some pounding heavy riffs. grooving drums, and a chorus that will stick in your head for a long time!”

Pre-order bundles for 'The Quantum Enigma' are now available, which include the 2-CD digipak version and exclusive album art t-shirts. For more information, go here.

Epica will kick off the tour cycle for 'The Quantum Enigma' with an album release show April 30 in Tilburg, The Netherlands. They have several European festivals on their concert schedule, including Masters of Rock in the Czech Republic, Vagos Open Air in Portugal and Canada's Heavy Montreal Festival in August.

More From Loudwire