Northern Chaos Gods is the anticipated new album from Immortal, who are on the verge of releasing their first album without the iconic guitarist/vocalist Abbath. The title track, heard above, proves life goes on for these icy Norwegians.

"Northern Chaos Gods" is a bit more razor-edged than we've heard Immortal in the new millennium, returning to their speed-obsessed early-to-mid-'90s tactics. There's still traces of melody, as there's always been, but they're not nearly as dominant as before.

Immortal, now with Demonaz (guitar, vocals) and Horgh (drum) as the band's creative duo, will issue Northern Chaos Gods on July 6 through Nuclear Blast. The album was produced by Hypocrisy's Peter Tagtgren, who also played bass on the recording. Check out the track listing and artwork below and pre-order the album here.

Abbath and Immortal parted ways in 2015 after a legal battle over the band name. With the moniker awarded to Demonaz and Horgh, Abbath embarked on a solo career, releasing his self-titled debut the following year. The duo have also accused the frontman of taking material that was intended for the next Immortal record for his own.

Immortal, Northern Chaos Gods Artwork + Track Listing

Nuclear Blast
Nuclear Blast

1. Northern Chaos Gods
2. Into Battle Ride
3. Gates to Blashyrkh
4. Grim and Dark
5. Called to Ice
6. Where Mountains Rise
7. Blacker Of Worlds
8. Mighty Ravendark

Top 30 Black Metal Albums of All Time

10 Ridiculous Black Metal Moments


More From Loudwire