Metallica fans who still prefer CDs over MP3s can pick up the band's four-song EP 'Beyond Magnetic' at retail outlets on Jan. 31.

The EP was released digitally on Dec. 13 and features songs recorded during the sessions for the band's 2008 album 'Death Magnetic.'

"During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs," said the band in a statement. "When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you've all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on 'Mission Metallica' (remember 'Mission Metallica'?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, 'What ever happened to those other four songs???.'

"We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them for our 30th anniversary celebration last month, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March '08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they're being made available to you."

Metallica celebrated its 30th anniversary as a band in Dec. 2011, performing four star-studded shows at the Fillmore Theatre in San Francisco, CA, exclusively for members of their fan club, the Metallica Club. The band posted 30 to 45 minute video clips of all four performances, the last of which featured ex-members Dave Mustaine and Jason Newsted jamming with the band.

'Beyond Magnetic' Track List:

1. 'Hate Train'
2. 'Just A Bullet Away'
3. 'Hell and Back'
4. 'Rebel of Babylon'

More From Loudwire