Metallica are quite conscious of their history, always making sure they do something unique to celebrate milestone anniversaries for their past triumphs. Last night (Sept. 6) in San Francisco, the group saluted the 20th anniversary of their S&M orchestral live album with the first of two S&M2 concerts. See the complete 20-song set list and watch fan-shot footage below.

Performing on a revolving circular stage for 16,000 fans at the grand opening of the Chase Center venue, Metallica were supported by 75 members of the San Francisco Symphony and conductor Edwin Outwater. It was the symphony who led the charge, performing "The Ecstasy of Gold," which has historically served as the opening salvo for Metallica's concerts before they hit the stage.

From there, the instrumentation continued with the iconic Ride the Lightning instrumental, "Call of Ktulu," before the crowd got a proper dose of Papa Het when "For Whom the Bell Tolls" came next.

Metallica, "The Ecstasy of Gold" + "Call of Ktulu"

There was a healthy mix of original S&M inclusions and this special concert afforded the group the opportunity to transform some 21st century material with with one St. Anger track ("All Within My Hands"), two Death Magnetic cuts ("The Day That Never Comes" and "The Unforgiven III," the latter of which featured just James Hetfield with the symphony) and three Hardwired... To Self-Destruct offerings ("Moth Into Flame," "Confusion" and "Halo on Fire") entering the set.

Metallica, "Moth Into Flame"

In tribute to late bassist Cliff Burton, the symphony's bassist performed "Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth)" with Burton's 94-year-old father Ray in attendance.

Metallica, "All Within My Hands" + "Anesthesia"

Metallica will perform the last of two scheduled S&M2 concerts tomorrow (Sept. 8) at the same venue. Fans who weren't fortunate enough to catch one of these shows will have the opportunity to see it on the big screen on Oct. 9 as the concerts are being filmed for a one-night only theatrical release in 3,000 theaters around the globe.

Watch footage of "Master of Puppets" and "Enter Sandman" directly below and view the set list for the Sept. 6 performance beneath those clips.

Meanwhile, Metallica's "WorldWired" tour supporting Hardwired... To Self-Destruct is still in motion. See if they're coming to a city near you and grab tickets here.

Metallica, "Master of Puppets"

Metallica, "Enter Sandman"

Metallica and the San Francisco Symphony Set List - Sept. 6, 2019

01. "The Ecstasy of Gold" (Ennio Morricone cover - symphony only)
02. "The Call of Ktulu"
03. "For Whom the Bell Tolls"
04. "The Day That Never Comes"
05. "The Memory Remains"
06. "Confusion"
07. "Moth Into Flame"
08. "The Outlaw Torn"
09. "No Leaf Clover"
10. "Halo on Fire"
11. "Scythian Suite, Op.20, Second Movement" (Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev - symphony only)
12. "Iron Foundry" (Alexander Mosolov cover)
13. "The Unforgiven III" (symphony with James Hetfield)
14. "All Within My Hands" (acoustic)
15. "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth" (bass part performed by San Francisco Symphony bassist)
16. "Wherever I May Roam"
17. "One"
18. "Master of Puppets"
19. "Nothing Else Matters"
20. "Enter Sandman"

Every Metallica Song Ranked

More From Loudwire