Death metal's resident cavemen Obituary are one of the genre's elite and are set to release their eponymous 10th studio effort on March 17 through Relapse, bringing 10 new tracks of slugging, rhythmic brutality.

Known for their mid-tempo, groove-laden approach to death metal, the ever-consistent Obituary have offered a teaser clip for the album with a snippet of the new song "It Lives" as heard in the video below.

"When writing records the song titles and album titles are always the last things on our minds," began vocalist John Tardy. "We know that the songs themselves are the most important thing, so with this our 10th studio album and nearly three decades as a band, we thought it was the perfect time for a self-titled release. It always helps to have a killer album cover so we worked with Andreas Marschall, gave him our ideas and thoughts and asked him to break out the big guns to create an epic logo and he delivered like he always has for Obituary."

"We could not be any more excited about this new album," the band collectively said. "We had a blast writing and recording it and having Ken [Andrews, guitar] and Terry [Butler, bass] as part of the writing process was a very cool experience for all of us. We really took our time with the writing process of these new songs, recording riffs and ideas as we went along and recording them as rough mixes then listening back and making necessary changes to help mold them into the songs that we are extremely proud of."

Pre-orders for Obituary can be placed at the Relapse webstore. Bundle options are available and fans can even choose from limited edition colored vinyl, one of which also includes a signed poster.

Catch Obituary on the road as part of the Decibel Magazine tour featuring headliners Kreator, Midnight and Horrendous. A full list of stops can be found at our 2017 Guide to Rock + Metal Tours.

Obituary, Obituary Track Listing

01. Brave
02. Sentence Day
03. Lesson in Vengeance
04. End It Now
05. Kneel Before Me
06. It Lives
07. Betrayed
08. Turned to Stone
09. Straight to Hell
10. Ten Thousand Ways to Die

Obituary Album Teaser

Most Anticipated Hard Rock + Metal Albums of 2017

See Obituary's John Tardy in the 10 Greatest Guttural + Harsh Vocalists in Metal

More From Loudwire