Germany's Obscura will return with Diluvium, their fifth studio effort, which is set for a July 13 release through Relapse Records. It's their first since 2016's Akróasis and the tech-death unit has debuted a music video for the title track, which can be viewed above.

Obscura, while technically dazzling, never lean too heavily on the "wow" factor and consistently place an emphasis on strong underlying melodies and articulate songwriting ahead of overindulgence on the frets."Diluvium" falls within expectations with fluid, noodly guitar passages and elegant fretless bass work to complement the onslaught of technicality over the opening moments. The song quickly moves in a more straightforward direction with melody-anointed riffs but takes its turns with constant tempo changes.

"With the title track of our new album we present you one of the most fast forward and brutal compositions Diluvium has to offer. The music video, created by German cinematographer Mirko Witzki, shows the first part of a connected story relating to the band's long-running four-album cycle," states Obscura.

Diluvium was recorded with longtime producer V. Santura (Triptykon, Pestilence) at Woodshed Studios in Landshut, Germany. Pre-orders are available now at the Relapse  webstore and digital reservations can be placed here.

Diluvium Artwork + Track Listing:


1. Clandestine Stars
2. Emergent Evolution
3. Diluvium
4. Mortification of the Vulgar Sun
5. Ethereal Skies
6. Convergence
7. Ekpyrosis
8. The Seventh Aeon
9. The Conjuration
10. An Epilogue to Infinity
11. A Last Farewell (Bonus Track)

See Obscura in the Best Death Metal Album of Each Year Since 1985

10 Greatest Technical Death Metal Bands

2018's Best Metal Songs... So Far

More From Loudwire