Over the last decade, Revocation have established themselves as leaders of the modern tech-death movement and they'll unleash their seventh studio effort, The Outer Ones, on Sept. 27 through Metal Blade. Get your first dose with the video for "Of Unworldly Origin" above.

What distances this group from other tech-death outfits is their sense of dynamism. While death metal serves as the foundation for their sound, Revocation often lean in other directions like thrash and black metal, ensuring there's voice and personality within the individual songs. "Of Unworldly Origin" embraces futuristic, sci-fi chords (think Voivod), churning grooves, sinister tremolo picking and bright bursts of melody to cut through the overall darkness, setting high expectations for the remainder of the record.

"The title is my ode to H.P. Lovecraft and the entities of pure cosmic horror that rule that universe he created," says frontman David Davidson of The Outer Ones. "Since the new music we were writing was so evil and spacey in sections it seemed to be the right title to fit the overall vibe," he continued, adding, "But while the lyrical content is largely influenced by such writings, in every allegory there is of course some reflection of the real world, so I enjoy writing in a way that could have one overlaying meaning and then another deeper, symbolic meaning as well."

Catch Revocation on the road on their headlining tour, which kicks off on Sept. 17 with  ExhumedRivers of Nihil and Yautja on the bill for support. Pre-order your copy of The Outer Ones at the Metal Blade webstore.

Revocation, The Outer Ones Artwork + Track Listing

Metal Blade
Metal Blade

01. “Of Unworldly Origin”
02. “That Which Consumes All Things”
03. “Blood Atonement”
04. “Fathomless Catacombs”
05. “The Outer Ones”
06. “Vanitas”
07. “Ex Nihilo”
08. “Luciferous”
09. “A Starless Darkness”

Best Death Metal Album of Each Year Since 1985

10 Greatest Technical Death Metal Bands

More From Loudwire