Swedish avant-garde metal outfit Avatar are set to release their six full length album, Feathers and Flesh, out May 13 on Entertainment One (eOne) in North America and Canada and Another Century for the rest of the world. The record will follow up the Swedish outfit's most successful album to date, Hail the Apocalypse, which was released in 2014. Along with the album announcement, Avatar have offered the first bit of new music with a music video for the single, "For the Swarm" which can be seen above.

"For the Swarm" is a quick, yet effective song clocking in at under two minutes. Starting with a bouncy rhythm, the circus feel is ever-present and has a spastic, System of a Down inspired interplay between quirky vocals and aggressive barking. The video is a geometric wonder with the band being featured on a series of cubes, rotating and floating through the air, showcasing their unique apparel.

Producer Sylvia Massy commented, “Avatar is an amazing band. The singer has the wild energy and charisma I love, and the players are relentless. The album we’re making is an epic. Each song powerfully stands on it’s own, but is only a piece of a larger story. This album is the project I’ve been dreaming about for years!”

Feathers and Flesh is a concept album that gets the full treatment, featuring an illustrated, 60-page hardcover book with a 109-verse poem. Pre-orders will begin on March 17 with a variety of bundle options available. To preview the assortments, click here.

Avatar, Feathers and Flesh Album Art


Avatar, Feathers and Flesh Track Listing

01. "Regret"
02. "House of Eternal Hunt"
03. "The Eagle Has Landed"
04. "New Land"
05. "Tooth, Beak & Claw"
06. "For the Swarm"
07. "Fiddler's Farewell"
08. "One More Hill"
09. "Black Waters"
10. "Night Never Ending"
11. "Pray the Sun Away"
12. "When the Snow Lies Red"
13. "Raven Wine"
14. "Sky Burial"

Watch Avatar's Johannes Eckerstrom Discuss Dimebag Darrell

Most Anticipated Hard Rock + Metal Albums of 2016

More From Loudwire